Books and Such

I haven’t posted a blog post since last month, one reason is because I’m busy saturating myself with library books.  After taking the Permaculture course for 2 weeks in early June I realized I didn’t know that much about agriculture, gardening, food forests, and all that other stuff I like to talk about without having done the prerequisite reading.

Before taking the class at the Permaculture design course at the majestic Lazy Black Bear I had already developed an exceeding knowledge in superhero health and herbalism.  It became clear to me that I had some reading to do this summer.  So, I read through the Permaculture Activist’s (magazine) book catalog and I checked out every book they suggested using the Illinois Encore synergy library which draws any book from any Illinois library and ships it to a library near you.  I literally checked out 300$ in books!  Great service.  It makes me feel like a raging fucking democrat thinking about libraries.  If we only used democracy in this country I might democrat.  Instead, I hope this false Left vs. Right paradigm burns.

Edible Forest Gardens by Dave Jacke was the book, more like a textbook, I was anticipating most.  Volumes 1 and 2 of EFG cost about 130$ together.  I was stoked to find this using the Encore synergy service at the Morton Arboretum library, which I’m sure is a fascinating library. I got a little book happy and ordered like 20 books or so.  But there’s no way in hell I’ve been reading that many or have that time and interest so I’ll list the ten I’ve been reading.

I also checked out Teaming with Microbes: The Organic Gardener’s Guide to the Soil Food Web which is an amazingly rich and readable book.

I’ve just hardly cracked open any of the Paul Stamets mushroom books but I still take my chaga everyday!

Gaia’s Garden is the consummate home Permaculture guide.  The Earth User’s Guide to Permaculture is a little bit easier to read and is a fine book.  I haven’t touched Food Not Lawns yet and it seems I may not ever because that material seems to already be covered.

I must admit, I haven’t been researching Permaculture half as much as I do superhero health and herbalism.  Of that field I’ve been really digging master herbalist and botanist Stephen Harrod Buhner’s The Fasting Path: The way to Spritiual, Physical, and Emotional Enlightenment and Sacred Plant Medicine.

Of course I’ve always got my favorite book ever always on hand, Amazing Grace: The Nine Principles of Living in Natural Magic by David Wolfe.  I can open that book to any page and it is the exact enlightenment I needed at that time.

I’ve also been experimenting heavily with the super fucking tonic herbs.  And megadosing them.  Right now I’m doing Elk Antler, Mountain Ant, Ginseng, Gynostemma, Pine Pollen, Camiella Sinus Pollen, Shijlajit, Chlorella, Raw Cacao, and some Ascended Health essential oils.  Quite a regimen and I’m learning so much about the tonic herbs and the superfoods.  I’ll have posts on each of these tonics in a bit.

Leave a Reply

